May 28, 2008

Streamlined Upgrades from 4.6.2 and Later

Well after following a similar practice for upgrading my DotNetNuke sites since pre DNN 4.4.1 days I have just learned of a very helpful new feature for those upgrading from 4.6.2 or later versions.  Starting with 4.6.2 a new function was added to the DotNetNuke core known as XML Merge, which removes the need for you to manually update the web.config file on each and every upgrade.  This takes the complicated manual merge process and reduces an upgrade to two simple steps.  I will detail these steps below.

NOTE: This ONLY works for DNN 4.6.2 and later systems.  DO NOT use this method if you are on a version prior to 4.6.2!  If you are on a version prior to 4.6.2 please use my "Upgrading to DotNetNuke 4.8.3 from 4.x" article.

Backup Existing Site

Even with the XML merge functionality it is very important to take a full backup of the website and database, just incase something doesn't work correctly during the upgrade.  If you are unsure of the process to backup your site, please be sure to read my blog How to Backup a DNN Site.

Upgrade Site

This is where things have been amazingly simplified. To perform an upgrade from 4.6.2 or later to the most current version simply download the UPGRADE package for the new version of DotNetNuke from the DotNetNuke.com website.  You MUST use the upgrade package for this process.  Once you have downloaded the package, simply unzip it over your existing DNN installation.  This will update all DotNetNuke core files and prepare you to install the upgrade.

Now, simply navigate to http://www.mysite.com/install/install.aspx?mode=install and you will be triggering the upgrade just like normal.  All needed web.config changes will be merged and your site will be upgraded.  If you encounter an under contruction page, simply try the URL again.

Conclusion

This new functionality makes it really easy to upgrade your DotNetNuke sites, and is a great time saver for those of us upgrading large numbers of DNN websites.  Please note that this process does NOT update any modules that might have new releases so you must do that via a separate process!

tags: DNN, Tutorials
comments powered by Disqus

Content provided in this blog is provided "AS-IS" and the information should be used at your own discretion.  The thoughts and opinions expressed are the personal thoughts of Mitchel Sellers and do not reflect the opinions of his employer.

Content Copyright

Content in this blog is copyright protected.  Re-publishing on other websites is allowed as long as proper credit and backlink to the article is provided.  Any other re-publishing or distribution of this content is prohibited without written permission from Mitchel Sellers.